9.—Provinces and Territories of Canada, with present Areas, Dates of Admission to Confederation and Legislative Process by which this was effected.

Province, Territory or District.	Date of Admission			Legislative Process.	Present Area (square miles).		
	or C			Legislative r rocess.	Land.	Water.	Total.
Ontario Quebec Nova Scotia	July	1,	1867 1867 1867	(Act of Imperial ParliamentThe British North America Act, 1867 (30-31 Vict., c. 3), and Imperial)	365,880 583,895 21,068	41,382 10,539 360	407.262 ¹ 594.434 ² 21.428
New Brunswick Manitoba		1,	1867 1870	Order in Council of May 22, 1867. Manitoba Act, 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3) and Imperial Order in Council, June 23, 1870.	27,911	74	27,985 251,832 7
British Columbia P. E. Island	46 44		1871 1873	Imperial Order in Council, May 16, 1871 Imperial Order in Council, June 26, 1873	353,416	2,439	355,855 2,184
Saskatchewan	Sept.		1905	Saskatchewan Act, 1965 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 42)		11,500	251,7004
Alberta Yukon	"June		1905 1898	4 Iberta Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 3) Yukon Territory Act, 1898 (61 Vict.,	250,925	4,360	255,2854
Mackenzie Keewatin Frauklin	Jan,	1, 1,	1920 1920 1920	c. 6) Order in Council, March 16, 1918	206,427 493,225 218,460 546,532	649 34,265 9,700 7,500	207.076 527.4905 228.160 554.0325
Total.,				······		142,674	3,684,723

¹ The area of Ontario was extended by the Canada (Ontario Boundary) Act, 1889, and the Ontario Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, o. 40).

*Extended by Order in Council of July 6, 1896 (confirmed by c. 3, Acts of 1898), and Quebee Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 45), and diminished in consequence of the award of the Judicial Committee of the British Privy Council (March 1, 1927), whereby some 112,400 square miles of territory, formerly coasidered as part of Quebec, were transferred to the Government of Newfoundland.

* Extended by Extension of Boundaries of Manitoba Act, 1881, and Manitoba Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V. c. 32).

⁴Alberta and Saskatchewan now cover approximately the area formerly comprised in the districts of Assiniboia, Athabaska, Alberta and Saskatchewan, established May 17, 1882, by minute of Canadian P.C., concurred in by Dominion Parliament and Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895.

⁵ By an Order in Council of June 23, 1870, Rupert's Land, acquired under the Rupert's Land Acts of 1867 and 1868, and the undefined Northern Territories were admitted into the Confederation. The original Northwest Territories, mentioned in the Manitoba Act, 1870, were established by the Northwest Territories Act, 1880 (43 Vict., c. 23), the district of Kewatin having been previously defined by an Act of the Dominion Parliament (39 Vict., e. 21). The provisional districts of Yukon, Mackenzie, Franklin and Ungava were defined in an Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895, their boundarise being changed by Order in Council of Dec. 18, 1897. By Order in Council of July 24, 1905, the area of Keewatin, not included in the Northwest Territories, was annexed to the latter from Sept. 1, 1905. By the Extension of Boundaries Act, 1912, Ungava was made a part of the province of Quebec, and the remaining area of the Northwest Territories south of 60^e N. latitude was divided between Manitoba and Ontario.

In each of the provinces the King is represented by a Lieutenant-Governor appointed by the Governor-General in Council, and governing with the advice and assistance of his Ministry or Executive Council, which is responsible to the Legislature and resigns office when it ceases to enjoy the confidence of that body. The Legislatures of all the provinces with the exception of Quebec are now uni-cameral,¹ consisting of a Legislative Assembly elected by the people. In Quebec there is a Legislative Council as well as a Legislative Assembly. For detailed description of the Provincial Governments, the reader is referred to pp. 101-115 of the 1922-23 edition of the Year Book.

The Lieutenant-Governors of the provinces, together with the names of the Ministers of the present administrations, are given in Table 10. Details regarding Provincial Legislatures and Ministries since Confederation were given on pp. 75-84 of the 1924 Year Book.

The Legislative Council of Nova Scotia ceased to exist in 1928.